top of page

Michael Pandya



Winner of the Pianist Prize at the 2019 Wigmore Hall International Song Competition, Michael Pandya is an increasingly sought-after pianist specialising in song and chamber music.


A former young artist at the Bayerische Staatsoper, he has appeared in performance alongside many high-calibre musicians including Graham Johnson, Željko Lučić, Jonathan Lemalu, Robin Tritschler, Michael Nagy, Freddie de Tommaso, Harriet Burns, William Thomas and Sarah Gilford, and has performed all across the UK, in Europe and in the USA.

Michael has also been awarded accompaniment prizes at the Gerald Moore Award, Kathleen Ferrier Awards, and Maureen Lehane Vocal Awards.

Highlights of recent seasons include performances at the Wigmore Hall, Bayerische Staatsoper, Fundaçion Juan March Madrid, KlavierFestRuhr, Jübiläums Festival Munich, Oxford Lieder Festival, Newbury Spring Festival, Royal Overseas-League London, Hinchingbrooke Bösendorfer Series, the Barbican Hall, Leeds Lieder Festival, and several live performances on BBC Radio 3’s In Tune. Michael is a Samling Artist, as well as being a regular pianist for the Samling Academy. He has given recitals for the Park Lane Group, the Concordia Foundation and City Music Foundation, and has received the Graham Johnson Fellowship at SongFest, Los Angeles.

Also an experienced vocal coach and repetiteur, Michael works as a pianist and coach at the Royal College of Music, as well as being regularly employed by the International Meistersinger Akademie and the Georg Solti Accademia. In Spring 2023 he will conduct from the harpsichord a concert given by Young Artists at the Bayerische Staatsoper. He also worked as a repetiteur for New Chamber Opera for two years, directing, coaching and conducting numerous productions.

In 2022 Michael was made an Associate of the Royal Academy of Music. Formerly Michael studied at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, Royal Academy of Music and University of Oxford. Teachers have included Graham Johnson, Julius Drake, Michael Dussek, James Baillieu, Ian Brown, Caroline Palmer and Sholto Kynoch.

bottom of page